Elmo Crisis!

First and foremost, I think it’s plain out gross and sick that any 50+ year old guy has accusations of molesting two younger guys. That’s just wrong on so many levels. As far as Elmo’s character being tainted by Clash’s actions, I don’t think it will hurt the puppet’s reputation. The first thing that has to be taken into consideration is the target audience of Sesame Street. Sesame Street’s target audience is made up of very young children. I know that I grew out of watching Sesame Street around age 7 or 8. I say all that to say this, young children don’t even watch the news! Also, Elmo is a puppet. Meaning children will still see the same puppet they have always seen since Sesame Street originated regardless of if Clash is present or not. All that has to be done is find another person with a very similar voice to the Elmo voice children have always heard. I would start a casting call and audition all aspiring new people to play Elmo. All I would need is just the right voice. I think that the PR team handled it well. I agree with putting him on leave while the company sorted things out. Those were some serious allegations for the company to digest, and Sesame Street needed time to sort things out. I don’t think having a press conference would be necessary. Once again, children are the target audience. I’m sure none of them are even aware of what’s even going on. The only way a press conference would be necessary is if the children’s learning is affected by the lost of Elmo. And as long as the writers of Elmo’s character keep writing substantial educational material, then Sesame Street will remain one of the top television shows for learning.

Posted in Uncategorized

One thought on “Elmo Crisis!

  1. I agree someone new needs to come in. It would be similar to taking away Mickey Mouse. Clash seemed to be amazing in the documentary Being Elmo, but is now tarnished by his choices. I wish it wasn’t true.

Leave a Reply

