Why do all good things come to an end?

It’s that time of the semester.  This week I ask that you reflect on the semester. What were the highs and the lows? What would you want to change & why? What have you learned that you will take with you into the next semester?

This semester was by far my best semester yet. I was diagnosed with a traumatic brain injury (TBI) after my car accident last September. My argument is that I never had a so-called “brain injury”. I just had a lot of swelling on my brain. I say this because, all of  the things that do happen to TBI patients; never did happen to me. I’m just blessed no matter how you look at it. I did most of my recovery at the Shepherd center in Atlanta; a Rehabilitation hospital. .My speech therapist urged me to not go back to school for at least two years.  However  of course I didn’t listen, and I went back to school not even after a year; and I am doing great. Who was she to tell me what I can and cannot do? Unless you’re God, then please don’t try to give me instructions. I’m taking two classes, and I have A+’s in both.

The lows are that it was hard trying to balance my school with therapy, but both of my professors were extremely understanding with me recovering. The only thing I would change is to be able to be back down there at school to get to know all of my classmates. There were times that I felt left out:( But I know that me not being down there made it very difficult to know that I exist.

I’m down to only one section of therapy, and I started out with five. I know that it will be much easier to balance school and therapy next semester. I’ve learned that I need to manage my time better.  I’m back taking a full load of classes Spring semester, and so I have to stay on it. There is no room for me to slack.

One thought on “Why do all good things come to an end?

  1. I must say you are very blessed and a great example of ” You can do all things through Christ who strengthens me!” I am glad that you are doing much better and staying focused on the future. It’s also good to hear you are doing well in your classes and pushing through it all no matter the circumstance; determination pays off! I wish you the best of luck in your healing process and your future endeavors.

Leave a Reply

