My Career is Promising

Why did you choose public relations as your major? For the public relations minors, why did you select it as your minor? What is it about public relations that fascinates you? What advice do you have for future public relations majors? What do you envision yourself doing in the public relations arena?

 My sophomore English told me that I could do public relations  (PR) with a degree in English. Therefore, I was initially an English major; but I changed it quick, fast, and in a hurry once I found out that this meant much more writing. I enjoy running my mouth to people, so I wanted to get into a major that links with the media and communications. PR is the perfect fit. I also enjoy solving problems, and I love relating to people. In fact, everyone that I know thinks that I am a people person.

The fascinating thing about PR is that just about every place, company, restaurant, etc. needs a PR department. Even though the economy is in terrible shape, PR has a plethora jobs out there. Advice that I would offer future PR majors is to get public speaking out-of-the-way at a young age. I feel like Public Speaking is a class that should be taken early. Way before you start getting a heavy work load, which includes those horrid 12 to 15 page papers written in APA format. All that is  required is  to make speeches and take test. (Well, at least that is all we did when I took it.)

I was planning to work at my dad’s company, United Parcel Service (UPS),  PR department in the corporate office downtown Atlanta. However, I was involved in a very traumatic car accident last September that caused me to do part of my recovery at the Shepherd Center, a rehabilitation hospital also in downtown Atlanta. While I was there, I saw a sign that said, “Public Relations department”. I then asked the director of the hospital how I would go about working there because my major is PR. He told me, “Well, the first thing you need to do is shoot me an email when you do graduate, and I’ll be more than happy to put in a good word for you.”  I have a great chance of getting this job, since I have been through this first hand. I would accurately be able to be a liaison between the public and the Shepherd Center, telling them just how much that rehabilitation center played a vital step in my recovery.

I am just excited about the future. God works in mysterious ways, and my best is yet to come. I can just picture it now, Media Contact; Kendra Etheridge Public Relations person.   🙂

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

